Monday, 9 November 2015

The Spider King's Daughter, 2012, Chibundo Onuzo ***

Let me start with saying it is a story about a rich man in Lagos, who got rich suspiciously. He is intimidatingly powerful, which makes the way he runs his household very questionable as well.

His presumptuous daughter Abike falls for a hawker, who use to belong to the Nigerian affluent middle class. What she did not know is that her father has a hand in the hawker's current situation by doing away with his father's life, the main breadwinner and the one who pays the bills. Will the hawker take this opportunity to avenge his father's death or

Sunday, 1 November 2015

New Book, Released on October 23rd 2015

Set on an island off the eastern coast of North Africa, the tale is of a young and smart yet impoverished girl who seeks to transcend her destitute class by showcasing her prowess to the regal establishment.  After a run of raucous adventures, she finds herself among the daunting elite. However, having gone from the ignorant bliss of simple peasant life to the sobering misery of the base evils of power-hungry men, Samiyah faces a series of terrible personal trials liable to determine the outcome of an imminent, bloody revolution.

Rife with passionate dialog, edgy suspense, and epic conflict, this Dark Fairy Tale follows our heroine as she journeys to heal a nation broken by the internal prejudices of class warfare, armed with nothing but stark determination.

Do you look forward to reading this novel? Have you heard about the writer before?

Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Saharawi Refugees: UNHCR press release

Devastating flooding affects 25,000 Sahrawi refugees in Tindouf camps
Briefing Notes, 23 October 2015
This is a summary of what was said by UNHCR spokesperson Melissa Fleming – to  whom quoted text may be attributed – at the press briefing, on 23 October 2015, at the Palais des Nations in Geneva.

The guest speaker for this item was Amin Awad, Director of the Bureau for the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) and Refugee Coordinator for the Syria and Iraq situations.

Heavy rains and flooding have caused widespread damage to five camps providing shelter to some 90,000 of the most vulnerable Sahrawi

Monday, 19 October 2015

An Elegy for Easterly, 2009, Petina Gappah ***

An Elegy for Easterly is a collection of  thirteen short stories that expounds on the socioeconomic political situation of the actual and the good old days Zimbabwe.

Let me say that the stories are funny, witty and most of the time tragic. Tragic because of the corruption, inflation, despair, poverty, HIV and AIDS constantly present in every backdrop of each story. For instance the story "The Cracked, Pink Lips of Rosie's Bridegroom"  you can feel
the pressure on women to get married, Rosie is so desperate to tie the knot that she does not care that her groom is obviously down with AIDS. Everyone turned a blind eye, of course they will, let he who is not infected or has not buried a relative who died from the disease cast the first stone.

In addition, what baffles me is

Monday, 12 October 2015

2015 Summer Read Progress (SRP)

My summer reading is nothing to boast about, I would have liked to read more since I still have quite a handful of unread novels sitting on my shelf. Nevertheless, whatever the excuse, I just did not get to read as much as I would have liked to. Life came in the way. All the same, I am glad I read at all, very thick novels for that matter. OK, maybe I am just exaggerating when I say thick, below the pages.

What about you? How was your summer reading? Or how was your reading during the third trimester of the year 2015? I hope it was better than mine.

Right now I am reading

Sunday, 27 September 2015

Mary Okeke Natural Hair Exposé

I have also learned to embrace the nature of my beauty. In the past I just could not bear the view of a string of my curly hair, or the feel of undergrowth, I was always trying to straighten them all out. Which was quite exhausting it was just like swimming against the tide.... Please click here to read more.

Thank you Linda for the feature.

Tuesday, 22 September 2015

Sundowners, 2003, Lesley Lokko ***

Sundowners is mainly the story of Rianne, Gaby, Nathalie and Charmaine and the boys they met while at boarding school in England. The story is set around the 80s and early mid 90s. Rianne is a white South-African, whose family is rich with exuberant lifestyle, they use their societal status (rich white privilege in apartheid SA) to take advantage of the less privileged, mostly blacks. She ended up falling in love with Riitho Modise, a black South-African, whose father is a political prisoner.
The story continued with Charmaine, who, not sure what to do with her life ran away with her "boyfriend" to

Tuesday, 18 August 2015

The Godfather, 1969, Mario Puzo *****

I know what you might be thinking, this is not African literature. Yes, I know. A couple of months ago my husband and I decided to watch The Godfather saga. I watched it when I was a very young teenager, I couldn't make out most of the story line. My tender age was a deterrent. So I decided to watch it now as an adult. I fell in love with the movie. The actors, settings and whatnot are impeccable.The movie left me wanting for more, so I decided to read the book.
I went to my librarian and narrated my  feelings, and asked if he had the book. He confessed that he had the same experience and had seen the movie many times now. However, I should keep in mind that the novel is not half as good as the movie. He left me dumbfounded because this is the first time I am told that a movie is better than the novel it is based on. He said I should read it anyway, perhaps, that is how I might get to appreciate  and even value more the classic work of art the movie is. He was not mistaken. 

This novel is not as good as the film, nevertheless, it is exciting, thrilling and fast moving. I devoured this 400+ pages in 4 days while on vacation. It helped me understand more the plot of the movie.
So a quick summary for those of you who might not know what the Godfather is all about. It is a story of a "sophisticated" mafia,

Monday, 10 August 2015

Our prewedding

Hello readers,
you might want to check out our save-the-date pictures and video. Please click here.

Kind regards.

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

Measuring Time, 2008, Helon Habila ****

After reading "Waiting for an Angel" I fell in love with Helon Habila and decided to read more of his works. He is such a splendid writer. A very good one for that matter.
"Measuring Time" is the story of a twin brother, born in a weird family circumstances. Their mother died during labour and their father couldn't care less.
We follow them as they grow up, one is constantly sick and considered the intelligent one while the other, the healthy one is not as intelligent as his brother. They are Mamo and LaMamo respectively. Their concerns about life grow as they become older, it even become more intense when a family member taken for dead,

Monday, 27 July 2015

New Book Release on August 13th 2015

Leila Aboulela has written another book, expected to be published on the 13th of August 2015 by Weidenfeld & Nicolson. 

From Goodreads

"Natasha is researching the life of Imam Shamil, a nineteenth-century warrior who battled to defend the Caucasus against Russian invasion. She uncovers a story of bravery and loss, and of captives traded between wild mountain hideouts and the refined court of the Tsar. The tale of Shamil and his lost son comes shockingly to life when Natasha realises that her star student, Oz, is descended from the warrior. Quickly, she becomes drawn to him, and to the alluring world of his family. But Natasha soon realises she is not the only one with

Thursday, 23 July 2015

2015 Spring Read Progress (SpRP) coming soon...

Ladies and gentlemen, I apologise for the long silence. I was on holidays, touring the south-east of Italy, from where, we sailed to Zakynthos, Greece. It was such an amazing experience. My husband and I are so excited and very well rested. While travelling, I finished reading "Measuring Time" by Helon Habila and read "The Godfather" by Mario Puzo, of which I will write about later. At the moment, I just started reading "Sundowners" by Lesley Lokko.

For a kick off, let me share a picture of our trip with you

Sunday, 14 June 2015

Fiela's Child, 1985, Dalene Matthee ****

A 3 year old white boy Lukas Van Rooyen got lost in the forest. He was  not found. Almost a decade later during census many kilometres away on the other side of the forest a white child named Benjamin Komoeties was found in the family of coloureds (in South Africa refers to people of mixed ethnic parentage). Was he the missing Lucas? Though, the white officials who carried out the census only cared about was why must a white child live with a black family? They took Benjamin away and was determined to never bring him back. Is Benjamin Komoties really the missing Lucas Van Rooyen?
As the story unfolds we get to see the impact all these changes had on Benjamin's

Monday, 1 June 2015

Half of a Yellow Sun the Movie ***

I am glad I finally watched Half of a Yellow Sun the movie. Let's keep in mind that movies are different form of art that cannot totally capture the real essence of a novel. With that said, the film was good although I did not enjoy it as much as I did the novel. To start with, Thandie Newton was amazing in her role as Olanna, she was quite impressive. Nevertheless, if I should give an Oscar to an actor in the movie, it would be to John Boyega, his performance as Ugwu was splendid. In my opinion, though it's been a while since I read the novel, I think he gave more substance to "Ugwu" than in the book.
Secondly, I did not like  Anika Noni Rose as Kainene, she was not convincing. Neither was Genevieve Nnaji the one who played Lara Adebayo. In my opinion Genevieve Nnaji should have played Kainene and they should have found someone else to do Lara Adebayo.

Furthermore, the actors' accent betrayed their origin. As an Igbo
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...